Hogge turns back Johnson at Tulare

TULARE, Calif. (May 1) — Bobby Hogge IV of Salinas, Calif., survived repeated challenges from Mike Johnson of Lompoc, Calif., at Thunderbowl Raceway to become the season’s first repeat winner on the West Coast Late Model Shootout tour.

Johnson nearly got under Hogge exiting turn four heading for the checkered flag, but he didn’t have room to make the pass and Hogge crossed the finish line a few lengths ahead to grab the $2,000 winner’s purse.

Fast qualifier Mike Kirby of Torrance, Calif., was third followed by Clay Daly of Watsonville, Calif., and Chet Buckley of Lompoc. Steve Drake of San Luis Obispo, Calif., battled Johnson for second early in the race but ended up seventh.

WCS @ Thunderbowl: (1) Bobby Hogge, (2) Mike Johnson, (3) Mike Kirby, (4) Clay Daly, (5) Chet Buckley, (6) Bryan Burnes, (7) Steve Drake, (8) Nick Bartels, (9) Jeff Decker, (10) Rob Sanders, (11) Dino Napier, (12) Tommy Malcolm, (13) Ron Bartels, (14) Carla Laney, (15) Johnny Cardoza, (16) James Cornelius, (17) Bill Bartels, (18) Matt Michelli, (19) John Lowrey, (20) Chris Shannon. Fast qualifier (among 24 cars): Kirby. Heat race winners: Drake, Hogge, Buckley. Dash winner: Drake.


You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.